Calling all potential relatives…

Map of Suffolk, 1910

Map of Suffolk, 1910

Hello everyone and a special hello to all new blog followers this week! So glad you could join us!

I now have a fairly substantial family tree to work with and with this in mind I’d just like to see if anyone out there would like to identify as part of this family tree. I will list some relevant surnames and geographical areas. All locations are in the United Kingdom (unless otherwise stated!).

Beginning with my father’s father’s side, I’ve been tracing my maiden name, Postans, back. All my own family occurrences so far are in Suffolk and Cambridgeshire. In Cambridgeshire, it’s only central Cambridge but there are lots of locations in Suffolk – Shelly, Newmarket, Pakenham, Mildenhall and Elveden. In later life, my grandfather lived in Luton, Bedfordshire. 

My great-grandmother Clara Webb came from a Cambridgeshire family. She was born in Bottisham and later the family resided in Swaffham Prior and Swaffham Bulbeck. Other Webbs also lived in Bottisham Lode. Clara had later associations in her life with Great Yarmouth, Norfolk.

Ann Campion, my 3X great grandmother, was born in Suffolk in 1775 (exact location not named in the documents). Her surname lived on through many subsequent generations, for reasons that still remain unclear. Her son was George Campion Postans, his grandson in turn was Frederick George Campion Postans, and she also had a grandson called George Campion Bateman.

George Campion Postans had a daughter, Jane (b. 1841 in Elveden) who married Thomas E Bateman and this family resided in Middlesex. George had a sister, Maria, who married a Henry Hare in Raydon, Suffolk in 1830. They went on to live in several locations in London/Middlesex, Limehouse, Stepney and Mile End.

On my father’s mother’s side, we have a variety of locations.

My grandmother was Muriel Ethel Myra Gardner. She was born in Handsworth, Staffordshire. She later lived in Reigate, Surrey, Great Shelford, Cambridgeshire and South London. Her mother, Ethel Beatrice Mears was originally from Kidderminster, Worcestershire. The Mears family originated in Roscommon, Ireland before settling in Northamptonshire, England.

Do you think you could be related to this family tree, even in a very remote way? Please get in touch! I’d love to hear from you!

Please feel free to reblog and share this post so that as many people have the chance to see it as possible. Thanks!

I found the beautiful map of Suffolk in 1910 at http://www.foxearth.org.uk/Maps/Suffolk1910.jpg. If you’re anything like me, you’ll enjoy blowing the map up large on your screen and looking at all the places! The Suffolk locations I’ve mentioned are mostly to the NW of the county.

Leave a Reply

